FKM und FFKM haben viele Gemeinsamkeiten. Ein Verständnis der Unterschiede ist von entscheidender Bedeutung bei der Auswahl einer geeigneten Dichtungslösung für Ihre Anwendung.

Was ist FKM?

FKM ist die ASTM-Bezeichnung für eine Klasse von fluoriertem, kohlenstoffbasiertem Synthesekautschuk, der allgemein auch als Fluorelastomer bekannt ist. FKM has impressive heat resistance, allowing FKM seals to withstand temperatures greater than 200°C. FKM also exhibits extraordinary levels of resistance to high pressures, chemicals and other fluids (including several fuels).

FKM wurde ursprünglich in den späten 1950ern entwickelt, um die Nachfrage nach Hochleistungsdichtungen in der Luft- und Raumfahrtindustrie erfüllen zu können. Die Entwicklung von FKMs wurde während der 1980er fortgesetzt und es wurden Fortschritte wie größere thermische Stabilität und verbesserte Beständigkeit gegen Hitze, Lösungsmittel und Kompression erzielt.

Heutzutage werden FKM-Materialien üblicherweise zur Herstellung von O-Ringen, Dichtungen und Versiegelungen für eine Vielzahl von Hochleistungsanwendungen in Luft- und Raumfahrt, Automobilindustrie, Energiebranche, Halbleiterindustrie und für industrielle Anwendungen eingesetzt.

Was ist FFKM?

Das auch als Perfluorelastomer bekannte FFKM enthält höhere Mengen an Fluor als gewöhnliches FKM und weist höhere Temperaturbeständigkeit bis zu etwa 325 °C auf. FFKM hat darüber hinaus eine verbesserte chemische Beständigkeit mit nahezu universeller chemischer Kompatibilität. Diese Kombination von verschiedenen hochleistungsfähigen Eigenschaften macht FFKM-Dichtungen zur ersten Wahl für anspruchsvollste Anwendungen.

Die erste kommerziell erhältliche FFKM-Dichtung wurde in den späten 1960ern hergestellt. Aufgrund von patentrechtlichen Einschränkungen begann die Herstellung von FFKM-Materialien in größerem Rahmen jedoch erst in den späten 1980ern.

FFKM wird in O-Ringen und Dichtungen in Umgebungen mit hohen Temperaturen und/oder aggressiven Chemikalien eingesetzt, unter anderem in der Luft- und Raumfahrt, Halbleiter-, Energie- und Pharmaindustrie sowie für industrielle Anwendungen.

FKM im Vergleich zu FFKM

See a comparison chart for other material compounds here.

FKM- und FFKM-Lösungen von Greene Tweed

Greene Tweed bietet eine breite Palette von FKM- und FFKM-Dichtungslösungen an, um die spezifischen Anforderungen der von uns unterstützten Branchen und Anwendungen zu erfüllen.

Greene Tweed’s proprietary FFKM material, Chemraz®, has the broadest chemical resistance of any elastomeric material, combining the resilience and sealing force of an elastomer with chemical resistance approaching that of PTFE.

Download our comparison of properties chart:

FKM und FFKM im Vergleich

Let’s connect to see how FKM or FFKM can support your business goals.

Suchen

FKM vs FFKM

FKM and FFKM share many similarities. Understanding the differences is critical in helping determine the appropriate sealing solution for your application.

What is FKM?

FKM is the ASTM designation for a class of fluorinated, carbon-based synthetic rubber, commonly known as fluoroelastomer. FKM has impressive heat resistance, allowing FKM seals to withstand temperatures greater than 200°C. FKM also exhibits extraordinary levels of resistance to high pressures, chemicals and other fluids (including several fuels).

FKM was originally developed in the late 1950s in response to demand for high performance seals in the aerospace industry. Development of FKMs continued through the 1980s, with advancements including greater thermal stability and improved heat, solvent, and compression resistance.

Today, FKM materials are commonly used to manufacture o-rings, seals, and gaskets for a variety of high-performance applications in the automotive, aerospace, energy, semiconductor, and industrial industries.

What is FFKM?

FFKM, or perfluoroelastomer, contains higher amounts of fluorine than standard FKM, and features higher temperature ratings, up to approximately 325°C. FFKM also has improved chemical resistance, with nearly universal chemical compatibility. This combination of high-performance capabilities makes FFKM seals the premium choice for the most challenging applications.

The first commercially available FFKM seal was produced in the late 1960s. However, widespread manufacturing of FFKM materials did not occur until the late 1980s due to patent restrictions.

FFKM is used in o-rings and seals in environments with high temperatures and/or harsh chemicals in the aerospace, semiconductor, energy, pharmaceutical and industrial industries.

FKM vs FFKM Comparison

See a comparison chart for other material compounds here.

FKM and FFKM Solutions by Greene Tweed

Greene Tweed offers a broad range of FKM and FFKM sealing solutions to meet the specific demands of the industries and applications we serve.

Greene Tweed’s proprietary FFKM material, Chemraz®, has the broadest chemical resistance of any elastomeric material, combining the resilience and sealing force of an elastomer with chemical resistance approaching that of PTFE.

Download our comparison of properties chart

FKM Versus FFKM – A Comparison of Properties